Supervisory authorities


   

   

our social networks


               

Search




Home > Teams > LAsers, Molecules and Environment > Themes > Analysis of gas traces

Analysis of gas traces


Samir KASSI
Guillaume MÉJEAN
Daniele ROMANINI
Irène VENTRILLARD

Trace gas analysis is more and more demanded for applications in science, as well as in the civil and industrial world. In our group we develop, playing with high finesse cavities and their properties, instruments of different type to respond to some of these needs. A patent was obtained for the technique named OF-CEAS (Optical-Feedback Cavity-Enhanced Absorption Spectroscopy). Several devices have been built based on DFB diode lasers and deployed in different measurement campaigns, in the field and in laboratories. Active projects concern adapting this technique to Quantum Cascade Lasers (QCLs), that emit in the mid-infrared (from 4 to 20 µm and more). Moreover, in order to attain visible wavelengths, we develop systems based on femtosecond Titanium-Sapphire lasers, where the comb of frequencies generated by such a laser is injected into a high finesse cavity. This technique, demonstrated by our group back in 2002, goes under the name of Mode-Locked Cavity Enhanced Absorption Spectroscopy (ML-CEAS).

 

SARA : analyzer of gas traces

Environmental monitoring requires the analysis of chemical species present in small concentration. This same need exists in the industrial, medical, agro-alimentary domains and more. Our method based on a diode laser and a light trap (an optical resonator) allows to quantify in real time (1s) the traces of several molecules: e.g. those responsible for the greenhouse effect, some atmospheric pollutants, and also some products of human metabolism which can be found in the exhaled air.

Read more

Flight of SARA in the sky of the North Pole

A new application opens up for the OF-CEAS high-finesse cavity laser spectrometer. This analyser of trace gases developed at LIPhy, tool part in the project ENRICHED coordinated by Valery Catoire and his group at the LPC2E laboratory in Orleans (France). This project aimed at collecting data concerning the evolution of stratosphere in Arctic region from winter to spring time. The objective is to supply data to the GIEC3 database which, up to now, does not take into account the lower atmosphere in the modelling of climatic change.

Read more

Femtosecond laser measures trace of atmospheric radicals on the Antarctica continent

An instrument developed in our laboratory is currently analyzing trace amounts of radicals of relevant to atmospheric chemistry in Antarctica. Its working principle is the technique of Mode-Locked Cavity Enhanced Absorption Spectroscopy, "ML-CEAS", introduced in 2002 by Titus Gherman and Daniele Romanini. The instrument relies on the last 10 years of technical progress in robustness and reliability of commercial femtosecond lasers.

Read more

Breath analysis

Optical-Feedback Cavity-Enhanced Absorption Spectroscopy (OF-CEAS) appears as a very promising laser spectroscopy technique for breath analysis. Fast and non-invasive measurements can be performed at a very high sensitivity with a good selectivity of the specie to be measured. This point is of particular importance as hundred of species are present in exhaled air. Furthermore, OF-CEAS offers additional advantages for medical diagnostic: it does not require a calibration with certified gas mixtures, its response time is faster than a single respiratory cycle, it allows the realization of compact and robust instruments that can be operated by non-specialist users in a medical environment.

Read more

Some applications of the "MLCEAS"

The technique « ML-CEAS », «Mode Locked Cavity Enhanced Absoprtion Spectroscopy», was introduced in 2002 by our research group. Since then, several applications of this technique have been tested in the laboratory, demonstrating theversatility and robustness of this technique. Here we present some of these.

Read more


This section doesn't contain any article.

Nos tutelles


 

Rechercher




Accueil > Équipes > LAsers, Molécules et Environnement > Thématiques > Détection de traces de gaz

Détection de traces de gaz


Samir KASSI
Guillaume MEJEAN
Daniele ROMANINI
Irène VENTRILLARD

La détection de gaz à l’état de traces a des applications importantes pour la communauté scientifique, ainsi que pour la société civile et industrielle. Au sein de notre groupe, nous développons, autour des « cavités de haute finesse », plusieurs types d’appareil pour répondre à cette demande. Un brevet a été déposé pour la technique dite "OF-CEAS", "Optical Feedback Cavity-Enhanced Absorption Spectroscopy", en français "SARA" pour "Spectroscopie par Amplification Résonante d’Absorption". Plusieurs appareils de mesure ont été construits avec des diodes lasers DFB et plusieurs campagnes de mesures, sur le terrain et dans des laboratoires, ont été réalisées. D’autres projets sont en cours pour pouvoir adapter cette technique aux lasers à cascade quantique, dont l’émission se situe dans l’infrarouge moyen (de 4 à 20 µm). Par ailleurs, pour atteindre les longueurs d’onde de l’ultra-violet et du visible, nous développons des systèmes conçus autour de lasers femtosecondes Ti-Sa où le peigne de modes de ces lasers est injecté dans une cavité haute finesse. Cette technique, démontrée pour la première fois au sein de notre équipe en 2002,est appelée « ML-CEAS », « Mode-Locked Cavity Enhanced Absorption Spectroscopy ».

 

SARA : Analyseur laser de traces de gaz

Le contrôle de l’environnement nécessite l’analyse d’espèces chimiques en faible concentration. Ce même besoin existe dans les domaines industriel, médical, agroalimentaire... Notre méthode utilisant une diode laser et un piège à lumière (résonateur optique) permet de quantifier en temps réel (1s) les traces de plusieurs molécules : entre autres celles responsables de l’effet de serre, certains polluants atmosphériques, ou encore certains produits du métabolisme humain que l’on retrouve dans le souffle...

Pour en savoir plus

Vol de SARA dans le ciel du Pôle Nord

Une nouvelle application s’ouvre pour le spectromètre optique à cavité haute finesse. Cet analyseur de traces de gaz développé par le LIPhy, a participé au projet ENRICHED coordonné par l’équipe de Valéry Catoire du LPC2E à Orléans. Ce projet avait pour but de collecter des données concernant l’évolution de la stratosphère en région arctique de l’hiver jusqu’au printemps. L’objectif étant d’alimenter les bases de données du GIEC 3 qui, jusqu’à ce jour, ne prennent en compte que la basse couche de l’atmosphère dans les modèles de prévision du changement climatique.

Pour en savoir plus

Un laser femtoseconde en Antarctique pour des mesures de gaz à l’échelle de trace

Un instrument réalisé au sein de notre laboratoire réalise en ce moment des mesures de radicaux d’intérêt atmosphérique en Antarctique. Son principe de fonctionnement est basé sur sur la technique "ML-CEAS" introduite pour la première fois en 2002 par Titus Gherman et Daniele Romanini. Cet instrument tire profit des progrès réalisés ces 10 dernières années dans la robustesse et la facilité d’opération des lasers femtosecondes.

Pour en savoir plus

Analyse de gaz expirés

L’OF-CEAS est une méthode de spectroscopie laser particulièrement bien adaptée à l’analyse du souffle. Elle permet d’effectuer des mesures non invasives, avec une très haute sensibilité et une grande sélectivité. Ce point est crucial puisque l’air expiré contient plusieurs centaines d’espèces moléculaires différentes. De plus, elle permet de réaliser des mesures en temps réel sans nécessiter de calibration régulière, son temps de réponse (200 ms) est inférieur à la durée des cycles respiratoires. De plus les instruments réalisés selon ce principe sont compactes, robustes et peuvent être utilisés dans un environnement médical par des personnes non initiées.

Pour en savoir plus

Quelques applications de la « ML-CEAS »

La technique « ML-CEAS », « Mode Locked Cavity Enhanced Absoprtion Spectroscopy », a été introduite la première fois par Titus Gherman et Daniele Romanini en 2002. Depuis, plusieurs applications de cette technique ont été réalisés au laboratoire démontrant toute l’efficacité et la robustesse de cette technique. En voici quelques unes.

Pour en savoir plus


Cette rubrique ne contient aucun article.